Cohorts Explained 1-9

The Cohorts are explained below:

Cohort 1: Residents in a care home for older adults and their carers

Cohort 2: All those 80 years of age and over and Frontline health and social care workers.

Cohort 3: All those 75 years of age and over

Cohort 4: All those 70 years of age and over and clinically extremely vulnerable individuals (those that received a shielding letter from the government)

Cohort 5: All those 65 years of age and over

Cohort 6: All individuals aged 16 years to 64 years with underlying health conditions which put them at higher risk of serious disease and mortality identified as;

  • chronic respiratory disease, including chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), cystic fibrosis and severe asthma
  • chronic heart disease (and vascular disease)
  • chronic kidney disease
  • chronic liver disease
  • chronic neurological disease including epilepsy
  • Down’s syndrome
  • severe and profound learning disability
  • diabetes
  • solid organ, bone marrow and stem cell transplant recipients
  • people with specific cancers
  • immunosuppression due to disease or treatment
  • asplenia and splenic dysfunction
  • morbid obesity
  • severe mental illness

Cohort 7: all those 60 years of age and over

Cohort 8: all those 55 years of age and over

Cohort 9: all those 50 years of age and over